OSU names distinguished professors

2013-02-22T11:00:00Z OSU names distinguished professorsCorvallis Gazette-Times Corvallis Gazette Times
February 22, 2013 11:00 am  • 

A medical researcher and a computer scientist are being recognized as distinguished professors by Oregon State University. “Distinguished professor” is the institution’s highest faculty honor.

Joseph Beckman, the director of the Environmental Health Sciences Center at OSU, and Thomas Dietterich, director and professor of intelligent systems in the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, will be honored for their achievements this spring.

Beckman is the Ava Helen Pauling Chair and principal investigator in OSU’s Linus Pauling Institute. He is best known for his discovery of the role of peroxynitrite in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, or Lou Gehrig’s disease, as well as his studies on antioxidants and nutrients that might help to slow progression of the ailment.

Dietterich is a pioneer in the field of machine learning and, like Beckman, is one of the most highly cited scientists in his field. He has obtained more than $30 million in research grants over his career, helped to build a world-class research group at Oregon State, and created three software companies. Dietterich also co-founded two of the field’s leading journals and was elected first president of the International Machine Learning Society.

Copyright 2015 Corvallis Gazette Times. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick