Three OSU authors gain nominations for Oregon Book Awards

2011-01-27T02:00:00Z Three OSU authors gain nominations for Oregon Book AwardsGazette-Times Corvallis Gazette Times
January 27, 2011 2:00 am  • 

Literary Arts announced the finalists for the 2011 Oregon Book Awards this week, a list including three Oregon State University faculty members.

Kathleen Dean Moore’s “Wild Comfort,” released by Trumpeter Books, is a finalist for the Sarah Winnemucca Award for Creative Nonfiction. Moore is a distinguished professor of philosophy and the founding director of the Spring Creek Project for Ideas, Nature and the Written Word. Moore also is the co-editor of 2010’s “Moral Ground: Ethical Action for a Planet in Peril,” released by Trinity University Press.

David Biespiel’s “The Book of Men and Women,” released by University of Washington Press, is a finalist for the Stafford/Hall Award for Poetry. Biespiel is an instructor in OSU’s English department.

Jennifer Richter’s “Threshold,” released by Southern Illinois University Press, also is nominated for the Stafford/Hall Award for Poetry. Richter will be a visiting writer and teach a master’s level poetry workshop.

Winners will be announced April 25 at the Gerding Theater in Portland.

Copyright 2016 Corvallis Gazette Times. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick