OSU grad among scientists honored by White House

2010-10-16T00:41:00Z OSU grad among scientists honored by White HouseOregon State University News and Communications Corvallis Gazette Times

Warren Washington, one of the world’s leading climate scientists and a graduate of Oregon State University, is one of 10 persons named Friday by President Obama to receive the National Medal of Science.

Washington has a bachelor’s degree in physics (1958) and a master’s degree in meteorology (1960) from OSU. He will return to campus Nov. 3, when he is a scheduled speaker in a Memorial Union Program Council series on diversity. He also will deliver the keynote speech on Nov. 4 in Portland for the Urban League of Portland’s Equal Opportunity Day dinner.

One of OSU’s most distinguished alumni, Washington, who was born in 1936 in Portland, has spent his career with the National Center for Atmospheric Research and developed an international reputation for his work, according to Mark Abbott, dean of Oregon State’s College of Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences.

Washington also served as chairman of the National Science Board and completed two terms. He was nominated by both Presidents Clinton and George W. Bush.

The National Medal of Science was created in 1959 and is administered for the White House by the National Science Foundation. Awarded annually, it recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to science and engineering.

In 2006, Washington received an honorary doctorate from OSU and also delivered its June commencement address.

The other recipients of the medal are Yakir Aharonov of Chapman University, California; Stephen J. Benkovic, Pennsylvania State University; Esther M. Conwell, University of Rochester in New York; Marye Anne Fox, University of California San Diego; Susan L. Lindquist, Whitehead Institute, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Mortimer Mishkin, National Institutes of Health in Maryland, David B. Mumford, Brown University in Rhode Island; Stanley B. Prusiner, University of California San Francisco; and Amnon Yariv of the California Institute of Technology.

Copyright 2015 Corvallis Gazette Times. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick