The Education Committee of the Corvallis NAACP will host its annual Youth Recognition Program at 2 p.m. Saturday in the Corvallis-Benton County Public Library meeting room.

Various students nominated by staff in the local schools will be recognized for their outstanding achievement in different areas. The public is invited to celebrate these outstanding youths.

Those who will be honored are:

Julian Magana, Jessica Alvarez, Ziet Cai, Sharon Beckett White, Vishesh Khanna, Emeline Mugisha, Elizabeth Ramos, Terry Yeung, Elizabeth Akinsanya, Moses Koretsky, Hugo Monroy, Karinda Tiweyang, Kathy Munyaka, Laura Magana, Ashley Borum, Leela Richman, Symon Ramos, Kimani Bunch and Auburn Scott.

In addition, Corvallis resident Peggy Carrick will be honored for her work with local students. She was nominated by Val Boggs of Garfield Elementary School.

The Corvallis NAACP will also host its annual Freedom Fund Banquet at 5:30 p.m. today at the community center at 1165 N.W. Monroe Ave. Tickets are available for $40 per person.

For more information on either event, call 738-0738.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.