Paul-Bryant 2


Scouts donate items to charity

The members of local Daisy Girl Scout Troop No. 24781 recently donated a number of items to charity.

The girls donated 12 duffel bags full of new items for foster children; 71 boxes of cookies to the military; and 100 books for children who have to wait for treatment in the emergency room. Troop members are Abby Davis, Candi Settles, Cate Tilton, Elizabeth Iturra, Hailey Miller, Kaiya Lutes, Kayla Vanderford, Madelyn Tilton, Madylynn Iturra, Maya Sailor, Payton Binek, Sahalie Kriz and Samantha Bausch. Their leader is Amanda Miller.

Local students earn scholarships

Last May, Comcast NBCUniversal announced $79,000 in scholarships for the 2017-18 school year to 61 Oregon and Southwest Washington students as part of its annual Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program.

Local recipients are Jane Cale of Albany, West Albany High School; Arianna Gonzalez-Cas of Albany, South Albany High School; David So of Corvallis, Crescent Valley High School; Brooklyn Giles of Lebanon, Lebanon High School; Christopher McMorran of Philomath, Philomath High School; Mikayla Manzi of Corvallis, Santiam Christian High School; Bradley Stein of Corvallis, Corvallis High School; and Gracie Olson of Sweet Home, Sweet Home High School.

The program, funded by the Comcast Foundation, awards a $1,000 scholarship to high school seniors for their community service, academic performance and leadership skills. Since 2001, more than $25 million has been awarded to nearly 25,000 high school seniors across the country as part of the Leaders and Achievers Program.

Corvallis resident receives scholarship

The Oregon Seed Association’s Scholarship Committee recognized six young men and women as recipients of the OSA/Oregon State University Scholarship Award during its midwinter meeting held last Jan. 10 in Salem.

Nick Carleson of Corvallis received a scholarship award. Carleson is in the BioResource Research program at the Honors College at OSU. His thesis focuses on plant-parasitic microbiomes. He has worked on the seed gall nematode, a pest seen in orchard grass and bent grass.

The OSA/OSU Scholarship award was established to assist those in need seeking higher education within the College of Agricultural Sciences at OSU. The OSU Crop and Soil Science scholarship committee coordinates nominations of qualified recipients.

Linn students win scholarships

Oregon State Credit Union awarded $2,000 Tomorrow’s Leaders Today college scholarships to two Linn County high school students as part of the 10 annual high school senior awards by the credit union.

West Albany High School’s Mariah Paul-Bryant and Central Linn High School’s Natalie Dumble were recognized by the scholarship program, which honors overall excellence within the credit union’s 4,400 teen members. Paul-Bryant is dual-enrolled at Linn-Benton Community College and Oregon State University this fall, while Dumble is enrolled at Oregon Institute of Technology.

Over the last 19 years, 191 students have received more than $200,000 in assistance toward their college educations through the program. All applicants are from the credit union’s 24-county field of membership and are attending an in-state college or university this fall.

Corvallis resident receives grant

Emma Runyon of Corvallis recently was awarded a Study Abroad Grant worth $1,000 from The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines.

Runyon is one of 50 students nationwide to receive the award. Currently a sophomore majoring in environmental science at Western Washington University, Runyon will use the grant to study abroad in Guanajuato, Mexico.

The selection process for a study-abroad grant is based on the applicant’s academic achievement, campus and community service, relation of travel to academic preparation and career goals, a personal statement, letters of recommendation, and acceptance into a study-abroad program.

Local students win scholarships

The Associated Oregon Loggers Scholarship Committee awarded scholarships last May 12.

The committee awarded a $1,500 scholarship to Anna Rose Petersen and to Anna Collins, both of Philomath, and to Ian Wilson of Corvallis. All awardees are attending Oregon State University, and their studies are in the field of forestry or a forest resource production curriculum.

PHS alum named to dean’s list

Eric Isaacs of Philomath was named to the Michigan Technological University spring semester dean’s list.

Isaacs, son of Frank Isaacs, is an alumnus of Philomath High School. He is majoring in forestry, and earned a 4.00 grade-point average.


Load comments