The Oregon Sports Hall of Fame and Museum announced its 2017 class of inductees on Monday.

According to induction ceremony chairman Mike Rose, the Hall of Fame will induct six new members to join over 350 prior inductees. The presentations will be made at the Multnomah Athletic Club on Sept. 19. 

This year’s class includes:

• Ashton Eaton, a two-time Olympic Decathlon gold medalist and five-time World Champion

• Brianne Theisen-Eaton, Olympic Heptathlon medalist and World Champion

• Thurman Bell, Roseburg High school football coach (second in all-time wins)

• The 2002 University of Portland NCAA champion women’s soccer team

• Aaron Paulson, adaptive sports paralympic swimming gold medalist

• The 2006-2007 Oregon State baseball College World Series champions.

This year’s ceremony will also feature a special tribute to Harry Glickman, a 1986 Hall of Fame inductee and acknowledged “father” of professional sports in Oregon. Early on, Glickman was responsible for bringing a number of NFL preseason exhibition games to Portland’s Multnomah Stadium. In 1960, he founded the Portland Buckaroos WHL hockey club. In 1970, he won the expansion franchise for the Portland Trail Blazers and served as the team’s president from 1987-1994.

Each year the Oregon Sports Hall of Fame helps preserve Oregon’s rich sports heritage through its recognition of outstanding Oregon athletes and special contributors to sport.

In addition, Oregon Sports Hall of Fame college scholarships of $3,000 each, made possible by contributions from the MacTarnahan Family Trust, will be awarded to six student-athletes to be used for continuing their education at Oregon colleges and universities.

This year’s student athletes are:

• Hunter Knox – Harrisburg

• Aaron Alexander – Molalla

• Cody Stahl – Dayton

• Fayth Dunn – Neah-Kah-Nie (Rockaway Beach)

• Katelyn Lester – McNary (Keizer)

• Tia Lohman – Beaverton 

The event will be held once again at the Multnomah Athletic Club, with a reception starting at 5:30 p.m. followed by dinner and induction at. Veteran sportscaster Bill Schonely will emcee the ceremony.

Tickets are $125 per person; tables of 10 are $1200.

The Oregon Sports Hall of Fame recognizes and honors Oregon’s rich athletic history with our museum and annual induction and awards ceremony. The Hall of Fame’s goal is to inspire participation in sport and foster awareness of the values and life-long rewards gained from this participation.