OSU football: Riley named AFCA Region Coach of the Year

2012-12-03T16:15:00Z 2012-12-17T08:17:58Z OSU football: Riley named AFCA Region Coach of the YearCorvallis Gazette-Times Corvallis Gazette Times
December 03, 2012 4:15 pm  • 

Oregon State coach Mike Riley was named the American Football Coaches Association Region 5 Football Subdivision Coach of the Year on Monday.

Riley led the Beavers to rankings of No. 15 by The Associated Press and No. 13 in the Bowl Championship Series standings after a 9-3 regular season, which included a 6-3 run in the Pacific-12 Conference.

The Beavers finished third in the North Division and had wins over current top-25 teams Wisconsin and UCLA. They were selected to play in the Dec. 29 Alamo Bowl against Texas.

OSU went 3-9 last season. The turnaround this year is the biggest in school history and tied for the best in the nation with Ohio State and Middle Tennessee.

Riley won the same award in 2008. This year he is one of five FBS coaches honored. He’s joined by Bill Snyder of Kansas State, Brian Kelly of Notre Dame, Kevin Sumlin of Texas A&M and Charlie Strong of Louisville.

Player honors

Senior cornerback Jordan Poyer was named first-team all-American by CBSSports.com. Senior receiver Markus Wheaton was named to the third team.

Poyer had seven interceptions and seven pass breakups. Wheaton averaged 111.6 all-purpose yards a game, 100.6 yards receiving and has scored 13 touchdowns.

Cliff Kirkpatrick covers Oregon State sports for the Gazette-Times. He can be reached at cliff.kirkpatrick@lee.net.

Copyright 2015 Corvallis Gazette Times. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick