Subscribe for 33¢ / day
Dyshawn Hobson

Corvallis High's Dyshawn Hobson was voted first-team all-Mid-Willamette Conference.

File photo, Mid-Valley Media

Corvallis High’s Dyshawn Hobson and Crescent Valley’s Tariq Harris were both voted first-team all-Mid-Willamette Conference by the league’s boys basketball coaches.

Hobson was an honorable mention recipient last year at point guard. Harris, a wing, was the 2017 MWC player of the year.

CV junior post Preston Heede was a second-team selection while AJ Sandvig and Spencer Boock received honorable mention. Corvallis’ Isaac Gabriel and Roman Gabriel also made honorable mention.

Silverton swept the individual awards with Cade Roth winning player of the year and Jamie McCarty coach of the year.

MWC girls

Crescent Valley junior guard Cali McClave and Corvallis senior wing Ellie Harding were first-team all-Mid-Willamette Conference selections.

Harding was a second-team pick as a junior last winter as Spartans teammates Grace Corbin and Alexandria Vallancey-Martinson shared player of the year honors. McClave received honorable mention a season ago.

Corvallis’ Krysta Wilson and Jordan Taylor received honorable mention, as did CV’s Ana McClave, Peyton Dale and Gwen Gray.

Silverton captured both individual awards as Maggie Roth was named player of the year and Tal Wold coach of the year.

WVL boys

Santiam Christian junior wing Zach Baugher was a first-team all-West Valley League selection.

Baugher and the third-seeded Eagles (21-5) open the 3A state tournament at 8:15 p.m. Thursday against No. 6 Cascade Christian.

Grant Carley and Josh Baugher were second-team picks for the Eagles. Sam Barton received honorable mention.

Dayton’s Tanner Lewis won player of the year while Horizon Christian’s Dave Brown and Dayton’s Ron Hop were co-coaches of the year.

WVL girls

Santiam Christian senior Kalli Ropp was a second-team all-West Valley League pick.

Eagles teammates Audrey Miller and Josie Risinger made honorable mention.

Dayton swept the individual awards with Shawnie Spink winning player of the year and Scott Spink coach of the year.


Load comments