Three basketball players from Corvallis High and one from Crescent Valley earned first-team recognition on the all-Mid-Willamette Conference teams.

The Spartans’ Marion Clark and Henry Rondeau, both seniors, made it on the boys’ squad while junior Leslie Robinson was honored on the girls’ team.

Crescent Valley senior Annie Owen also made the girls’ first team.

For the boys, Crescent Valley’s Tanner Sanders, junior, and Tanner Fiez, senior, are on the second team.

Two other Raiders are honorable mention picks — seniors Justin Ditgen and Jared Baumgartner. Corvallis senior Dylan Duvall is also an honorable mention selection.

Silverton swept the boys’ special honors with Zach Gengler garnering player of the year and Darren Shryock chosen as coach of the year.

For the girls, Corvallis junior McKenna McGowan was selected to the second team.

Honorable mention picks for the girls include senior Paige Kelsey and junior Jess Sexson of the Raiders, and senior Maddi Bartholomew and junior Brooklyn Coe of the Spartans.

West Albany’s Corey James was named offensive player of the year and Lebanon’s Cianna Dickey earned defensive player of the year. The coach of the year award went to West Albany’s Mike Haberly.

Mid-Willamette Conference


Player of the year: Zach Gengler, Silverton

First team: Chad Sherwood, Sr., West Albany; Marion Clark, Sr., Corvallis; Toby Roth, Sr., Silverton; Jalen Schlegel, Sr., West Albany; Henry Rondeau, Sr., Corvallis

Second team: Nate Sherwood, Jr., West Albany; Tanner Sanders, Jr., Crescent Valley; Tanner Fiez, Sr., Crescent Valley; Trevor Bledsoe, Sr., Silverton; Tanner Tibbett, Sr., South Albany

Honorable mention: Rey Ruiz, So., Woodburn; Justin Ditgen, Sr., Crescent Valley; Jared Baumgartner, Sr., Crescent Valley; Dimitry Cherimnov, Sr., Woodburn; Joe Schaefer, Sr., Silverton; Preston Kirk, Sr., Silverton; Sawyer Reid, Sr., West Albany; Josh Bryant, Sr., West Albany; Riley Havlin, Sr., South Albany; Dylan Duvall, Sr., Corvallis; Hayden Broadus, So., Dallas; Julian Veliz, Sr., Woodburn; Zach Husko, Woodburn; Jacobi Smith, Sr., South Albany; Jacob McConnell, Sr., Lebanon

Coach of the year: Darren Shryock, Silverton

Note: The all-MWC boys list includes a player of the year plus five other players on the first team, five more on the second team and honorable mention selections.


First team: Corey James, So., West Albany; Leslie Robinson, Jr., Corvallis; Ashton Siegner, Jr., West Albany; Jenna Morch, Jr., Lebanon; Jessica Mitchell, Sr., Dallas; Annie Owen, Sr., Crescent Valley; Cianna Dickey, Jr., Lebanon

Second team: McKenna McGowan, Jr., Corvallis; Ali Nelke, So., West Albany; Megan Ratliff, Jr., Silverton; Ellie Phillips, Jr., Lebanon; Maci Benedict, Jr., Lebanon; Kyia Duvall, So., West Albany

Honorable mention: Paige Kelsey, Sr., Crescent Valley; Celine Gregoire, Jr., Woodburn; Maddi Bartholomew, Sr., Corvallis; Sarah Mitchell, So., Dallas; Hannah DeVyldere, Sr., South Albany; Lauren Conser, Sr., West Albany; Brooklyn Coe, Jr., Corvallis; Jessica Sexson, Jr., Crescent Valley; Lilly Paradis, Jr., Silverton; Alia Parsons, Fr., Silverton; Sara Henderson, So., Silverton; Brandi Doman, Sr., Woodburn

Offensive player of the year: Corey James, West Albany

Defensive player of the year: Cianna Dickey, Lebanon

Coach of the year: Mike Haberly, West Albany

Note: The all-MWC girls list includes seven players on the first team, seven on the second team, honorable mention and separate player of the year honors.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.