Crescent Valley High football coach Scott Sanders will be an assistant for the West team during next month’s U.S. Army All-American Bowl in San Antonio.

Sanders, who just wrapped up his 11th season with the Raiders, is one of nine coaches for the West team. Jason Mohns of Saguaro High (Scottsdale, Arizona) is the West’s head coach.

“Coaches prepare America’s youth to success and excel in school, on the field and in life,” deputy assistant secretary of the Army for marketing Elizabeth F. Wilson said in a statement. “The coaches and assistant coaches chosen for the U.S. Army All-American Bowl are demonstrated leaders. We are proud to honor all of the U.S. Army All-American Bowl coaches and congratulate each of them on their selection.”

Sanders guided the Raiders to a 9-2 overall record this fall and a share of the Mid-Willamette Conference title. CV dropped a 24-22 decision at Churchill in the 5A state quarterfinals.

The U.S. Army All-America Bowl will be televised live on NBC at 10 a.m. Saturday, Jan. 6.

CV senior Talanoa Hufanga, the top prospect in the state of Oregon, will play for the West team. Hufanga is rated a five-star prospect and the No. 14 overall player in the country by 247Sports.

In September, Hufanga listed his six finalists as Michigan, Nebraska, Oregon, UCLA, USC and Utah.

Eagles rake in honors

Six Santiam Christian football players were voted first-team all-West Valley League.

Seniors Kyle Paratore (offensive line and linebacker), Ivan Gilder (kicker), Caleb Beck (defensive line) and Grant Carley (defensive back) and juniors Luke Janssen (running back) and Jason Manzi (wide receiver) all made the league’s top team.

The Eagles, who finished 10-3 overall, shared the WVL title with Dayton. SC made it all the way to the 3A state championship game before suffering a 28-21 loss to Cascade Christian.

Carley (quarterback) and Beck (OL) were also second-team selections, along with Zach Watson (tight end) and Jaxon Conner (DL). Teammates Hunter Fields (running back), Conrad Carter (WR), Noah Hubele (WR), Jonny Green (OL), Vandon Haugen (LB) and Watson (DL) received honorable mention.

Dayton quarterback Tristan Fergus was voted WVL offensive player of the year and Willamina lineman Keegan Cook defensive player of the year. Willamina’s Dan Oswald won coach of the year.

A season ago, Paratore was the league's defensive player of the year.

Saito, Young, Crowson win awards

Several members of Monroe’s football team were honored by the Mountain View Conference.

Senior Keith Saito was named the league’s lineman of the year while sophomore running back Zach Young won offensive player of the year. Bill Crowson, who led the Dragons to the 2A state title, was voted coach of the year.

Gavin Bayliss (OL), Cristian Garcia (OL and DL), Eric Teran (WR), Kairen Garber (QB and DB), Parker Wynn (RB and LB), Trent Warden (LB), Saito (OL and DL) and Young (RB, DB and K) were first-team picks.

Henry Koch (OL), Brodey Lynn (TE and DB), Carver Beck (WR and DB), Brian Goracke (WR), Colton Sutton (RB), Zack Esplin (RB and LB), Jorge Sanchez (DL), Young (P), Bayliss (DL) and Warden (TE) were second-team choices.

The three-team conference did not have honorable mention selections.