REDMOND — The Scio and Central Linn wrestling teams finished in third place at the Oregon Classic Tournament.

In the 3A division, Scio took a 48-33 win over Rainier for third. The Loggers got pins from Jacob Mask (138), Brandon Zeiher (145), Daniel Simmons (152), Adam Stratemeyer (160), Dru Cook (182), Wyatt Zelenka (220) and Jacob Lowther (285).

The Loggers defeated Harrisburg 46-26 in the quarterfinal. At 138, Bryce West of Scio pinned Shamas Lawson of Harrisburg in 2:49 and Scio's Daniel Simmons won by major decision, 13-4, over Chandler Strauss at 152. Scio lost to LaPine 42-36 in the semifinal. Brandon Zeiher (145) and Simmons won by fall.

Central Linn defeatend Monroe 42-33 in the quarterfinal and lost to Culver 57-15 in the semifinal, then got by Lowell for third.

Central Linn had six forfeit wins against Monroe. Central Linn's Tanner Reister pinned Carson Perdue in 42 seconds. Mason Sloan (182) and Justin Malone (285) won by fall in their matches against Culver.

West Albany defeated South Medford 54-30 in the 6A bracket. Cayden Cumpiano (106), Ethan Tyler (126), Wyatt French (132), Devon McIntyre (138), Seth Jackson (145), Trona Free (152) and Mitchell Sorte (160) all won by fall for the Bulldogs.

In 4A, Sweet Home lost to LaGrande for third place. Jackson Royer (126), Robbie Yunke (132), Travis Thorpe (138) and Ricky Yunke (145) all won by fall in the match.

The Huskies were defeated 47-25 by Tillamook in the semifinal. Royer, Robbie Yunke and Ricky Yunke all pinned their opponents.

Philomath fell to Sisters 48-30 in the semifinal. James Howell pinned Dustin Smith in 1:42 at 160 for PHS.

In 3A, Harrisburg's Riley Suttles pinned Hunter Zeiher in 3:19 at 126 and the Eagles' Leithan Briggs pinned William Simmons in 5:40 at 170 in the loss to Scio.

Harrisburg lost 34-27 to Burns in the consolation semifinals and fell to Riverside 45-27 in the seventh-place match.

Jefferson defeated Lakeview 36-21 in the semifinal. Cody Adams pinned Dylan Still at 182 for Jefferson.

Santiam Christian defeated Vale 45-21 in the semifinal as Austin Bradford pinned Porter Farley in 4:52 at 113, Luke Janssen pinned Trevor Romans in 30 seconds. Jason Manzi (145) and Vandon Haughen (152) also won by fall for SC.

At 2A/1A, Monroe's Jared Egbert (106) pinned Cory Stutz in 50 seconds, Louden Ballard won by fall over Tony Belcastro in 2:19 at 126 and Kai Garber pinned Cameron McKee in 42 seconds at 160 in the loss to Central Linn.

The Dragons defeated Crane 42-18 in the consolation semifinal and then fell to Grant Union/Prairie City, 57-23, for fifth place. Ballard won by fall at 126 as did Zach Esplin at 182.


The Crescent Valley girls and Corvallis boys both finished second in the 14-team Rumbaugh Invitational swim meet at Osborn Aquatic Center.

Bend won both titles.

The Corvallis girls were seventh and the CV boys finished 14th.

Crescent Valley won the girls 200 medley relay with a time of 1 minute, 55.62 seconds and the CHS boys took first in the 200 medley relay in 1:45.77.

The CV girls and CHS boys were both second in the 400 freestyle relay.

CV's Chloe Bowman was second in the 200 freestyle and third in the 500 freestyle.

Anna Edwards of CHS won the 100 breaststroke.

Corvallis' Dylan Dhakwa took first in the 100 freestyle.


Load comments