PORTLAND — Crescent Valley junior Alex Rich moved two steps closer to a third straight 5A wrestling state title Friday.

Rich (43-1) pinned both of his 132-pound opponents to move into this morning’s semifinals at the OSAA state tournament at Memorial Coliseum.

He took just 40 seconds to beat Mountain View’s Chase Misener in the first round of the tournament.

Wilson’s Grant Borsberry put up a better fight in the quarterfinals, even taking a 2-0 lead on Rich in the first period.

But Rich came back to take a 9-3 lead and pinned Borsberry early in the third period.

Rich now has seven pins in 10 state tournament matches.

The semifinals are scheduled to begin at 9:45 a.m. and the finals at 6:30 p.m.

CV’s Brock Wilson (145) got to the quarterfinals with a second-round pin of Wilsonville’s Josiah Day.

But Wilson then lost by fall to Mountain View’s Tracy Pitcher.

CV’s Alex McNeill (138) lost a 15-3 major decision to second seed Riley Jaramillo of Churchill in a first-round match.

Andrew Iademarco (285) of Corvallis lost 5-2 to top seed Semise Kofe of Roosevelt in the first round.

In a double-elimination format, all wrestlers who lose in the championship bracket drop into consolation with an opportunity to place as high as third.


Philomath’s Nate Burkus (170) and Lucas Sinclair (285) both won to get into the quarterfinals but lost in that round.

Burkus earned a 9-0 major decision against Tillamook’s Eli Pesterfield before losing to top seed Gary Jantzer of Henley by a second-round technical fall.

Sinclair pinned Ridgeview’s Brian Chavez in the first round but was pinned by four seed Stephen Noonan of Henley in a quarterfinal.


Santiam Christian brothers Riley Hills and Oren Hills made it to the semifinals with quarterfinal wins.

Riley Hills (170) got two first-round pins with a combined mat time of 2 minutes, 14 seconds. Oren Hills (285), the three seed in his bracket, had a first-round bye and then defeated Jacob Yruegas of Nyssa, 5-2.

SC’s Tanner Butler (152) also made the quarterfinals but lost 7-1 to top seed Jake Forrester of Glide.


Monroe advanced all eight of its seeded competitors into Saturday’s semifinals.

With just eight wrestlers in each 2A/1A bracket, there was only one championship round Friday.

Justin Doyle (106), Kaleb Ballard (113), Tyler Sherman (120), Austin Dalton (138), Austin Baker (145), Wyatt Stover (170), Joseph Ballard (220) and Ben Baker (285) all got quarterfinal wins for the Dragons.

Kaleb Ballard, a sophomore, was the 2013 106 champion. Baker, Dalton and Sherman are also returning state placers.

Championship bracket results

Seeds in parentheses


First round

132: (1) Alex Rich, Crescent Valley p. Chase Misener, Mountain View, :40

138: (2) Riley Jaramillo, Churchill, maj. dec. Alex McNeill, Crescent Valley, 15-3

145: Brock Wilson, Crescent Valley, p. Josiah Day, Wilsonville, 1:19

285: (1) Semise Kofe, Roosevelt dec. Andrew Iademarco, Corvallis, 5-2


132: (1) Rich p. Grant Borsberry, Wilson, 4:28

145: (1) Tracy Pitcher, Mountain View, p. Wilson, 5:13


First round

145: (1) Collbran Meeker, Crook County p. Carson Calder, Philomath, 1:01

152: Jose Mendez, Klamath Union dec. Jacob Morris, Philomath. 10-3

170: Nate Burkus, Philomath maj. dec. Eli Pesterfield, Tillamook, 9-0

285: Lucas Sinclair, Philomath, p. Brian Chavez, Ridgeview, 5:23


170: (1) Gary Jantzer, Henley tech. fall Burkus, 4:25

285: (4) Stephen Noonan, Henley p. Sinclair, 3:06


First round

152: Tanner Butler, Santiam Christian p. Alejandro Carrasco, Nyssa, 1:06

160: (4) Gerardo Mendez, Nyssa, dec. Joseph Kinnaman, Santiam Christian, 7-5 (OT)

170: Riley Hills, Santiam Christian p. Ian Tuel, Corbett, :55

285: (3) Oren Hills Santiam Christian, bye


152: (1) Jake Forrester, Glide dec. Butler, 7-1

170: R. Hills p. (3) Jose Candelas, Nyssa, 1:19

285: (3) O. Hills dec. Jacob Yruegas, Nyssa, 5-2



106: (1) Justin Doyle, Monroe dec. Blake Butler, Pine Eagle, 6-4 (OT)

113: (1) Kaleb Ballard, Monroe dec. Shawn Richardson, Oakridge, 4-1; (3) Daniel Colton, Union/Cove p. Kyle Bateman, Monroe, 3:31

120: (3) Tyler Sherman, Monroe p. Seth Abbas, Culver, 4:43

126: (1) TJ Hooks, Oakridge dec. Chris Ralston, Monroe, 7-1

138: (2) Austin Dalton, Monroe maj. dec. Rocky Lilly, Myrtle Point, 10-2

145: (2) Austin Baker, Monroe p. Hayden Trimbell, Lowell, 5:34

170: (3) Wyatt Stover, Monroe dec. Gabriel Anderson, Lowell, 9-5

195: (3) Matthew Staigle, Enterprise/Joseph p. Calvin Bradberry, Monroe, 5:51

220: (3) Joseph Ballard, Monroe p. Trent Clark, Crow, :47

285: (3) Ben Baker, Monroe dec. Tucker Wright, Grant Union, 3-1


Load comments