Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
At Our Best

At Our Best

  • 0

Toastmasters face off in area contest

Mark Williams of the Oregon State Toastmasters Club of Corvallis took first place recently in the Area 32 Humorous Speech contest. He works at the OSU Student Media Center. Tom Whitlach of the Avery Toastmasters Club took second place.

John Haroldson of the Corvallis Toastmasters Club won first place in the Table Topic portion of the contest. He is the assistant district attorney for Benton County. Susie Semenek of the Oregon State Club took second place.

Benton CCF honors volunteers

The Benton County Commission on Children and Families recently honored community volunteers, during its ninth annual Community Meeting/Volunteer Recog-nition Program.

The 2002 Business of the Year Award went to Hull-Oakes Lumber.

Youth Award recipients were: Nick Ahn, Elizabeth Allen, Stuart Allen, Carol Barnette, Heather Brink-Roby, Laura Catchpole, Emily Chovanec, Lorrie Cleven, Bayley Coblentz, Makaira Coblentz, Heather Cook, Kirsten Cook, Kristy Cook, Kacy Cotton, Cristina Cruz-Uribe, Keneth Dasch, Bobby Davis, Maeve Dempsey, Seth Deutchman, Shawn Deutchman, Lisa Eckhart, Heather Emery-Walen, Cody Finn, Jesse Fitzpatrick, Chad Foley, Kanako Fugioka, Sara Gale, Michelle Gianotti, Katie Godwin, Angel Goetzinger, Alicia Griggs, Dustin Grinstead, Ingred Hedstrom, Adam Holton, Stephanie Holton, Tracy Karr, Molly Keogh, Vishesh Khanna, Sarah Livesay, Becky Loving, Angelique Manning, Zach Manning, Kally McClaughry, Jené McGinty, Martin McLemore, Kym Mitchell, Rob Mitchell, Jesse Mull, Kaila Nelson-Waymack, Tate Newburgh, Heidi Nusom, Devin Oakes, Bryant Park, Nicole Peilke, Josué Pena, Travis Pitts, Chelsea Prechel, Danielle Reesman, Aslan Rentz, Devin Rentz, Cole Simpson, Rochelle Simpson-Davis, Becca Snyder, Rosie Stewart, Tyler Storie, Sonja Tilton, Melissa Toups, Jessica Warden, Nick Waymack, Jonathan Weber, Melisa Wiggins, Catherine Wright, Tino Zapien-Ramos.

Adult Award recipients were: Rita Adams, Carol Bailey, Kyhia Bostic, Tim Bouma, Sang Bradley, Dale Burrows, Don Campbell, Arnon Crane, Lue Ann Davis, Amy Denault, Jim Eickelberg, Gene Gipe, Karen Haynes, John Herrman, Gregory Johnson, Holly Junge, Jan Keister, Kristine Klemm, Judson Leiser, Gary Lutnesky, Rosemary Lyke, Denna Melton, Colleen Montgomery, Sue Murphy, Tammy Myhrum, Ronald Naasko, Alice Nielsen, Jay Perrizo, Barb Ramey, Carrie Roberts, Lisa Schupp, Shelley Smith, Marilyn Starker, Erica Strandberg, Alan Sugawara, Kevin Swier, Gary Tarver, Melissa Theurer, Carol Uhler, Kathy Wasechek.


gets fellowship

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Heidy Servin-Baez of Corvallis has been selected by the Congressional Hispanic Caucus as one of 21 participants in its nine-month fellowship program. She recently graduated from the University of San Francisco with a bachelor's degree in international business.

Since 1981, the CHCI Fellowship Program has offered Latino college graduates and current graduate students the opportunity to gain hands-on experience at the federal level in the public policy area of their choice. The range of placements include congressional offices, federal agencies, Washington-based media groups, national advocacy organizations and government-related corporate institutions.

For more information on CHCI call 800-EXCEL DC or go online at

Caring Place honors officers

Corvallis Caring Place Inc. has elected Betty Johnson as president of the board of directors. Johnson follows local attorney Rich Rodeman.

Rodeman was honored for his service as president during the planning, construction and recent opening of the nonprofit assisted facility.

Retiring board member Janell Kaufhardt was also recognized for her service on the board of directors.

Karen Hooker was re-elected as secretary and Joe Malcolm as treasurer. Newly elected board members are: Gary P. Beck, John Hogan, Alan Lanker and Penny Reher.

Catherine Nelson joins dean's list

NORTHFIELD, Minn. - Catherine Nelson of Corvallis, the daughter of David and Sharon Nelson and a graduate of Crescent Valley High School, has been named to the dean's list at Carl

eton College by placing in the top 10 percent of students in her class.

Two earn master's from Pacific U.

FOREST GROVE - Elizabeth M. Walsh of Corvallis and Angela Larrabee of Philomath received master's degrees in August from Pacific University.

Scholarships awarded

FORT COLLINS, Colo. - Rachel Bell of Corvallis, a junior at Colorado State University, has been awarded the Alexandra Stewart and Gustave W. Voezel Jr. Memorial Scholarship of $2,750 and the Lucille and Charles Terrell Memorial Award of $450 from the College of Applied Human Sciences for the 2002-03 school year.

Bell is a human development and family studies major. She graduated from Crescent Valley High School in 2000.

BELLINGHAM, Wash. - Kyle Yamada, son of Russell and Sylvia Yamada of Corvallis, has been awarded a $3,700 Paul and Jeannette Woodring Scholarship for the 2002-03 academic year at Western Washington University. The scholarship is awarded to outstanding education students who demonstrate superior talent and have scored in the top 10 percent on pre-college tests.

Yamada has a 4.0 grade point average and is pursuing a master's degree in teaching.


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News