You are the owner of this article.
Three Warriors receive all-conference recognition in boys soccer

Three Warriors receive all-conference recognition in boys soccer

PHS boys soccer: Mark Grimmer

Philomath's Mark Grimmer threatens to score in a game from this past season.

In a conference loaded with talent and the two schools that ended up reaching the Class 4A championship game, nabbing a spot on the all-conference first team for boys soccer turned out to be a major accomplishment.

Philomath’s Mark Grimmer missed by just three points.

In voting among the Oregon West’s coaches, nine “field” players were named to the first team with four from Woodburn, three from Stayton and one each from Cascade and Newport. The ninth player on the first team — David Ramirez of Stayton — received 27 points in the voting. The top two on the second team — Jacob Farr of Cascade and Grimmer, received 25 and 24 points, respectively.

Grimmer had a standout season with 15 goals, including hat-trick performances in wins over Cascade and Sweet Home. Two other Philomath players received recognition as honorable mention selections in seniors Ben Reams and Bryce Beeton.

Stayton’s Chris Shields earned the coach of the year honor. The player of the year award was split between Stayton’s Jayden Esparza and Woodburn’s Ricardo Hernandez. Woodburn won the state title Saturday with a 1-0 victory over the Eagles.

All-Oregon West Conference

First Team

Goalkeeper: Ivan Pelayo, Sr., Stayton

Field: Jayden Esparza, So., Stayton; Ricardo Hernandez, Jr., Woodburn; Ricardo Chacon, So., Woodburn; Omar Renteria, Jr., Stayton; Julian Lopez, Jr., Cascade; Rodolfo Campuzano, Sr., Woodburn; Kevin Flores, Sr., Woodburn; Kevin Teodoro, Sr., Newport; David Ramirez, Sr., Stayton

Defenders: Riley Menezez, Sr., Woodburn; Alex Guiterrez, Sr., Cascade

Second Team

Goalkeeper: Isacc Pureco, Sr., Woodburn

Field: Jacob Farr, Jr., Cascade; Mark Grimmer, So., Philomath; Ethan Eckert, Sr., Sisters; Ricky Huffman, So., Sisters; Isael Ramirez, So., Stayton; Ruben Ruiz, Jr., Cascade; Otavio Leiriao, Jr., Cascade; Aidan Pierias, So., Newport

Defenders: Julian Pelayo, Jr., Stayton; Adrian Jimenez, Sr., Woodburn.

Honorable Mention

Goalkeeper: Dylan Wolf, Jr., Cascade

Field: Chase Lopez, Jr., Sweet Home; Danny Pelayo, Jr., Cascade; Damien Uribe, Jr., Stayton; Jimmy Martin, Jr., Woodburn; Connor Linn, Jr., Sisters; Ben Reams, Sr., Philomath; Omar Garcia, Fr., Stayton

Defenders: Niko Krutzikowsky, Sr., Newport; Nolan Cramer, Sr., Stayton; Bryce Beeton, Sr., Philomath; JJ Mata, Jr., Sweet Home; Crisanto Ayala, Jr., Woodburn; Nathaniel Alvarez, Jr., Sisters; Jesus Franco, Jr., Cascade; Juan Lopez, Sr., Newport

Coach of the Year: Chris Shields, Stayton

Co-Players of the Year: Jayden Esparza, Stayton, and Ricardo Hernandez, Woodburn


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News