Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Celebrate Corvallis nominees announced

Celebrate Corvallis nominees announced

  • Updated
  • 0
GT Logo

Some 52 local residents and organizations have been nominated for recognition at the 70th annual Celebrate Corvallis awards banquet next month, the Corvallis Chamber of Commerce announced on Friday.

Leigh Griffith, Trudy Overlin and Ilene McClelland are the nominees for First Citizen, given annually to a local resident who has made outstanding contributions to the community.

Larry Mullins, the longtime chief executive of Samaritan Health Services who is retiring at the end of the year, will be presented with the Jim and Ruth Howland Special Achievement Award.

The Celebrate Corvallis Awards are given each year in a variety of categories to recognize significant accomplishments in business, volunteerism and the arts.

This year’s event will take place from 5:30 to 8:30 p.m. on Jan. 19 at Oregon State University’s CH2M Hill Alumni Center, 725 SW 26th St. in Corvallis. Heavy hors d’oeuvres will be served, and beer and wine will be available.

The theme is simply “Celebrate Corvallis” and will shine a spotlight on the city itself as well as the award winners.

“We’re going to talk a lot about accomplishments and other things that happened throughout the year,” said Chamber of Commerce President and CEO Cooper Whitman, who will share master of ceremonies duties with Gazette-Times Editor Mike McInally.

“It will be a Corvallis-centric event even more than usual this year.”

Group tables for the event are almost sold out, Whitman said. Individual tickets are available at a cost of $65 for Chamber of Commerce members or $75 for nonmembers. Tickets can be ordered online at

Also nominated for awards this year are:

• Senior First Citizen: Ruby Moon, Sid Lasswell, Ann Smart and Hugh White.

• Business of the Year: Barker-Uerlings Insurance, Corvallis Country Club, Country Vitamins, Duerksen & Associates, Evenflo Plumbing, Horsepower Productions, Hospitality Vision, the Little Lunch Box and Reynolds Law Firm.

• Future First Citizen: Jasmine Enger, Crescent Valley High School; Tommi Villers, Santiam Christian High School; James Wilson, Corvallis High School; Maxwell Sun, Crescent Valley High School; Travis Hinz, Corvallis High School; and Blake Peterson, Santiam Christian High School.

• Junior First Citizen: Erin Duncan, Amy Yardley, Erick Edtl and Kierra Woekel.

• Patron of the Arts: Nancy Bryant, Jennifer Moreland and Jimbo Ivy.

• Community Organization/Nonprofit of the Year: Benton Community Foundation, Corvallis Bicycle Collective, CEI Works, Chintimini Wildlife Center, Corvallis Oddfellows, Grace Center for Adult Day Services, Jackson Street Youth Services, Old Mill Center for Children & Families, Trillium Family Services and Work Unlimited.

• Robert C. Ingalls Business Person of the Year: Lorena Reynolds, Lu An Carone-Rhodes, Hong Wolfe and Mary Bentley.

• Entrepreneur of the Year: Jonathan Hurst, Agility Robotics; Benny Augeri, Benny's Donuts and Sidecar; Paul Spies, Balance Real Estate; Dan Crall, Corvallis Pedi Cab; Lainey Morse, Goat Yoga; and Ann and Collin Schneider, Tried & True Coffee Co.

• Good Steward of the Planet: Greenbelt Land Trust, Toyota Subaru of Corvallis and Wild Yeast Bakery.



Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

  • Updated

The Oregon State Police reported that a woman died in a single-vehicle crash at about 11:30 a.m. Monday near milepost 1 of Highway 164.

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News