Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Candidate filing season is in the home stretch, with November’s Corvallis City Council election perhaps providing as many as six contested races.

Friday was the deadline for individuals to file paperwork indicating their intent to run. Those who have begun the signature-gathering process have until 5 p.m. Monday to turn them in. Aug. 17 is the deadline for certifying candidates.

Here is an update on the mayoral and council races. The mayor serves a four-year term, while the nine councilors serve for two years.

Mayor: Incumbent Biff Traber and Ward 2 Councilor Roen Hogg both have completed their petitions. Dean Codo, a community volunteer, and Riley Doraine, a prep cook and dishwasher at the Peacock, have not yet turned in the required 100 signatures.

Ward 1: Retired pastor Steve Lee has completed his paperwork, with Jan Napack, a retired research associate and Oregon State University chemistry graduate, is just awaiting verification of her required 20 signatures. Lee and Napack are seeking to replace retiring three-term incumbent Penny York.

Ward 2: Housing manager Charles Maughan and engineer and downtown property owner Catherine Mater both have completed petitions.

Ward 3: One-term incumbent Hyatt Lytle and challengers Rachell Hoffman, business manager of the Corvallis Odd Fellows Hall, and Mika Goodwin, an organizer for Democratic Socialists of America, all have completed petitions.

Wards 4, 6 and 8: Two-term incumbent Barbara Bull has completed her paperwork for Ward 4, as have first-termer Nancy Wyse in Ward 6 and pediatrician Ed Junkins, who is seeking to replace Mark Page in Ward 8. Page moved out of the ward and is ineligible to run there. Bull, Wyse and Junkins will be running unopposed.

Ward 5: First-term incumbent Charlyn Ellis and challenger Paige Kreisman, an Army veteran and OSU student, both have completed their petitions.

Ward 7: Two-term incumbent Bill Glassmire has completed his petition, while prospective challenger Jacob Baltzell, a baker who earned his GED at College Hill High School, still has to turn in his signatures.

Ward 9: Andrew Struthers, an OSU information technology employee and member of the city Budget Commission, and Andrew Freborg, a medical transport company general manager, both have turned in completed petitions for the seat being vacated by nine-term veteran Hal Brauner.

Contact reporter James Day at or 541-758-9542. Follow at or



Load comments