Beavers Sports Logo White

Oregon State, which is opens the season on Friday, has been picked to finish third in the Pac-12 Conference by a vote of the conference's coaches.

The Beavers, who won the national title last season, received 85 points and one first-place vote; OSU is five points behind No. 2 Stanford. UCLA was selected to win the conference title, receiving 97 points.

Coaches are not permitted to vote for their own teams. First-place votes are worth 10 points, second place receives nine points and so on.

The Beavers will play their first eight games of the season in Surprise, Arizona, beginning at noon Friday against New Mexico.


Junior left-handed relievers Brandon Eisert and Jake Mulholland have been named to the watch list for the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) stopper of the year award.

The honor is given annually to college baseball’s top relief pitcher.

Eisert and Mulholland have both been named to multiple preseason All-American teams. Mulholland, meanwhile, is a two-time All-American, earning the recognition as a freshman in 2017 and as a sophomore in 2018.

Eisert enters the season after a stellar 2018 campaign that saw him make 27 relief appearances. He was 5-3 with a 2.53 ERA, striking out 52 in 57 innings. He walked just 12 and picked up five saves.

Mulholland made 31 appearances for the Beavers last season, saving 16 games to go along with a 2-2 record and 2.20 ERA. The lefty totaled 45 innings of work, striking out 42 to just 11 walks. He enters the 2019 season with 22 career saves, tied for third-most in the Oregon State record books. 

Be the first to know - Sign up for Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.