You are the owner of this article.
OSU baseball: Grenier wins Brooks Wallace Award

OSU baseball: Grenier wins Brooks Wallace Award

Cadyn Grenier

Oregon State junior shortstop Cadyn Grenier won the Brooks Wallace Award. 

Oregon State junior Cadyn Grenier is the 2018 Brooks Wallace Award winner, the College Baseball Foundation announced Thursday. 

The award is presented annually to the nation's top collegiate shortstop. 

Grenier, a two-year starter at shortstop, is the first OSU player to win the award. Previous honorees include Dansby Swanson (2015, Vanderbilt), Trea Turner (2014, North Carolina State) and Alex Bregman (2013, LSU). Grenier is also the first player from the Pac-12 Conference to receive the award. 

The Henderson, Nevada, native is batting .322 entering the College World Series. Grenier has hit five home runs with 44 RBIs and eight stolen bases. Defensively, he leads Oregon State with 142 assists and has committed just six errors for a .973 fielding percentage.

Grenier was voted Pac-12 defensive player of the year last month and was also named first-team all-conference. He was recognized by Baseball America as a second-team All-American and by as a third-teamer. 

Earlier this month, Grenier was selected in the first round (37th overall) by the Baltimore Orioles in the MLB draft. 

The award will be presented by the College Baseball Foundation later this year. It is named for former Texas Tech shortstop Brooks Wallace, who played for the Red Raiders to from 1977 to 1980. Wallace died of leukemia in 1985 at the age of 27.


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News