Try 3 months for $3

The Oregon Sports Hall of Fame & Museum announced its 2010 eight-member class of inductees Tuesday, with two former Oregon State athletes Paul Brothers and Joy Selig-Peterson.

Others in the class are high school basketball coach Nick Robertson, PGA pro Brian Henninger, NFL referee Nate Jones, sports journalists Dwight Jaynes, NBA player and coach Terry Porter and Jack Elder, Olympic luger and amateur sports philanthropist.

Brothers was a two-time state all-American quarterback at Roseburg High and led the team to two consecutive state championships. Parade Magazine honored him with their annual all-American award along with two others — Steve Spurrier and Bob Griese.

He starred at quarterback for OSU from 1964-1966. In 1964, following an 8-3 season, the Beavers went to the Rose Bowl. As a three-year starter under coach Tommy Prothro, Brothers led OSU to a 20-11 record

Following college, Brothers was drafted by the Dallas Cowboys in 1966, before opting to play for the B.C. Lions and the Ottawa Rough Riders in the Canadian Football League.

After professional football, he coached football and basketball at Marist High, and girls basketball at Willamette High.

Selig-Peterson was inducted to the Oregon State University Sports Hall of Fame in 1997. She lettered from 1988-91, and was a seven-time all-American. She earned the NCAA title on the balance beam twice and once on floor exercise.

She was named to the Pac-10 Conference Women’s All-Decade Team in 1995 (all sports) and was the 1991 American Award recipient-given to the nation’s top gymnast.

At the time of her graduation, she held the school record in the all-around, balance beam and floor exercise. She was the NCAA Woman of the Year for Oregon and participated in the World University Games in 1991. Selig-Peterson has more first-team all-America accolades to her name than any other OSU gymnast.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.