Beavers Sports Logo White

GOLD RIVER, Calif. — The No. 17 Oregon State men’s rowing team earned a fourth-place overall finish at Pac-12 Championships on Sunday morning. The Beavers’ Varsity 4+ earned a bronze medal as OSU’s top-finishing crew of the regatta.

“Today’s result shows that we still have work to do before the IRA Championships,” coach Gabe Winkler said. “We will wait for the bids to come out on Tuesday but I know our guys can hold their own with the teams out east.” 

The Beavers’ V4+, which was powered by Alex Hernandez, Camron Gharib, Austin Eaton and Gregory Adelman and directed by Ercoli Crugnale, cruised to third place pulling in 12 seconds ahead of Oregon with a time of 7 minutes, 22.661 seconds to medal.

OSU’s Third Varsity 8, which defeated Stanford by three seconds last week, couldn’t repeat the feat this week. The Cardinal won the sprint to the finish line in a fight for bronze turning in a time of 6:32.267 to the Beavers’ 6:34.842.

The Varsity 8, ranked No. 17 and consisting of Neall Koetje, Baxter Call, Roman Pjajka, Jesse Maritz, Glenn Miller, Jacob Hart, Max McDonald, Hunter Smith and coxed by Ben Garrison, raced to a fourth-place finish behind ranked crews from Washington (No. 1), California (No. 2) and Stanford (No. 8).

Oregon State’s Junior Varsity 8 was the fourth boat to cross the finish, recording a time of 6:24.354, pulling in 12 seconds behind the Cardinal (6:12.583).

The Beavers will await an invitation to the Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) Championships which will be held at West Windsor, N.J., June 1-3. The IRA Championship field will be announced on Tuesday.


Register for more free articles
Stay logged in to skip the surveys

The women’s team finished seventh at the Pac-12 Championships with the Varsity 8 and Varsity 4+ crews each racing to sixth-place finishes.

“The four did a nice job today and the 1V was okay,” coach Kate Maxim said. “But collectively, as a team, we’re disappointed. We could have been a little better and had a tighter margin with other crews, but UCLA was on a mission and tested us. It is a good step for our program to face a crew like that and respond the way we did. Overall, the results are fair from the place we started.”

OSU’s V4+, which is crewed mostly by a collection of novices including Mackenzie Rice, Claire Williams, Becca Pritchard and Lexi Heyerly and coxed by Bailey Daniels, raced to sixth. The Beavers out-sprinted USC’s crew to the finish turning in a time of 8:05.422, four full seconds ahead of USC (8:09.533).

The Beavers’ V8 earned a sixth-place finish for the second straight year, with a time of 6:56.633, pulling in ahead of UCLA by nearly two seconds (6:58.625). OSU’s crew consisting of Alina Hagstrom, Olivia Ashby, Paige Phillips, Eliza Adams, Abi Watts, Katie Descheemaeker and Scout Sutton and coxed by Heather Thompson, including five rowers that last year helped push the Beavers to their first sixth-place since 2010, came up six seconds short of fifth, pulling in behind Washington State (6:50.679).

Oregon State’s Second Varsity 8 powered by Mimi Grosselius, Gabriella Yakemow, Claire Diller, Maddie Vinson, Taylor Gibson, Natalie Tercek, Diana Oppenheimer, Liz Matzdorf and coxed by Cassy Lozano, turned in a time of 7:21.613 to finish seventh.

“Today we had good responses and learned some good lessons," Maxim said. " We’re racing harder but we have work to do, from recruiting to training. We should be uncomfortable with where we are, and what we want to do about it starts this summer.”

No. 1 ranked Washington swept all four races to repeat as Pac-12 champions.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.