Santiam Christian High senior Kyle Paratore was voted 3A state defensive player of the year for football.

Paratore, a linebacker, was also a first-team all-West Valley League selection at linebacker and as an offensive lineman. He was the WVL defensive player of the year as a junior in 2016.

Paratore helped lead the Eagles to the 3A state championship game. Cascade Christian held on for a 28-21 victory to win the title.

Jason Manzi (wide receiver) and Paratore (OL and LB) were SC’s only first-team all-state picks. Grant Carley (quarterback and defensive back), Luke Janssen (running back), Ivan Gilder (kicker) and Caleb Beck (defensive line) were second-teamers while Jaxon Conner received honorable mention on the defensive line.

Cascade Christian senior quarterback Haiden Schaan was voted offensive player of the year. Challengers coach Jon Gettman was the coach of the year.


After winning the program’s first outright state title, Monroe’s Zach Young (offensive player of the year) and Bill Crowson (coach of the year) received 2A’s top honors.

Young, a sophomore running back and defensive back, was the Mountain View Conference’s offensive player of the year. He was a first-team all-state pick on both sides of the ball and at kicker.

Fellow Dragons Cristian Garcia (OL), Keith Saito (OL and DL), Parker Wynn (LB) and Trent Warden (LB) joined Young on the first team. Eric Teran (WR), Gavin Bayliss (OL), Kairan Garber (DB), Wynn (RB) and Warden (TE) were second-team picks; Garber (QB) and Garcia (DL) were third-teamers.

Monroe downed Santiam 36-22 in the 2A title game to finish 11-1 overall.