Try 1 month for 99¢

Crescent Valley High senior Emma Smith was voted Mid-Willamette Conference girls soccer player of the year.

Smith, a first-team all-MWC pick as a junior last fall, helped lead the unbeaten Raiders (12-0-1) to a 7-0 league record. No. 3 CV opens the 5A state playoffs at 5 p.m. Tuesday with a home match against 14th-seeded St. Helens (7-6-2).

CV’s Blake Leamy brought home coach of the year honors. 

Fellow Raiders Nicole Moore, Isabella Schrader, Cali McClave and keeper Peyton Dale also received first-team recognition. Claire Macy, Remy Noble and Vanessa Taylor made the second team while Megan Brunelle and Sydney Berrey were honorable mention picks.

Corvallis’ Indigo Martin-Llinas, Heather Wright and Aja Bumpus made the first team. Teammates Maggie Hunter, Jordan Taylor and keeper Elly Wolfe were second-teamers and Wendy Hare and Joanna Bomber received honorable mention.

The seventh-seeded Spartans (9-4-1) will host No. 10 Ashland (10-2-1) at 4 p.m. Tuesday in the state round of 16.

Spartan honored

After helping lead Corvallis to a share of the conference title, Edgar Monroy was named MWC boys soccer player of the year.

Monroy, a sophomore forward, scored three goals in the Spartans’ 5-1 victory over Woodburn. No. 2 Corvallis (12-1-1) is set to host 15th-seeded Sandy (10-4) at 6 p.m. Wednesday in the 5A state round of 16.

As a freshman in 2016, Monroy was an all-league second-team pick. 

Spartans teammates Avery Whipple, Max Brune and keeper Roman Gabriel joined Monroy as first-team all-MWC selections. Riley Mellinger and Dylan Heppell made the second team while Nick Hentzel and David Nazario-Avalos received honorable mention.

Crescent Valley senior forward John Sarna was a first-team pick. Torin Harte earned second-team honors and Luca Greeven and Mattin Khoshzaber made honorable mention.

The 11th-seeded Raiders (9-4-1) travel to No. 6 Bend (10-1-3) on Wednesday for the state round of 16.

Central’s Joe Orozco was voted MWC coach of the year.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Sports Reporter